Thursday, October 10, 2013

The Four Capitals Of Tennessee




   There have been four capitals of Tennessee since our founding as a state on June 1, 1796. Knoxville was the capital on two occasions. The first time from 1796 until 1812. The second time from 1817 until 1818. Kingston was the capital of Tennessee for one day! On September 21, 1807, the Tennessee General Assembly met in Kingston. They declared it to be the state capital, passed one item, and adjourned. That one item was the acquisition of Cherokee territory that was known as Fort Southwest Point. The Indians had ceded the land around the Fort to the State with the provision that it would be named the State capital, which it was, but only for one day. Before the Indians realized that they had been tricked, the capital was moved back to Knoxville. 

  Murfreesboro was the capital from 1818 until 1826. It was chosen because it is the geographic center of the state of Tennessee. While it was in Murfreesboro Davy Crockett served in the state legislature. I read somewhere that they moved the capital from Murfreesboro to Nashville because the courthouse that was being used as the capital building burned down. This was a temporary move until they could rebuild it. When the time came to transport the official government documents from Nashville to Murfreesboro the city didn't want to pay the 100.00 dollar freight charge and this is why Nashville is the capital today. Nashville has been the capital twice. The first time from 1812 to 1817. The second time from 1826 until the present.

No comments:

Post a Comment